Title Sequence

After completing my Redtree Pictures production card, I figured that the the next logical step would be to construct the opening titles of my film.

Titles so far

So far, I had done little work on the titles. I knew that I wanted them to last no longer than 30 seconds, and that they would be accompanied by the music that I had joint-composed. As far as actually constructing titles, the closest I have come are the ones I created for my rough cut. When I knew that my rough cut was clearly not going to be a reflection of my finished product, I decided that a better use of my time would be to work on the titles, in the hope that they would be reflective of something found in the end product. Below are the titles I had created for my rough cut:

Strengths of these titles:

  • They clearly portray the message/titles
  • They are simplistic, much like the rest of the film.
  • They are short, thus keep in with the desired timeframe.

Weaknesses of these titles:

  • They are a little too simplistic. They look a little makeshift.
  • They become quite dull to watch
  • They are not equal in size (continuity issues)
  • The font is not the one selected by my audience

Changing the Titles

Given that the weaknesses outweigh the strengths of these titles, I figured it was best to change hem. Especially as I am not as happy with the actual production as I thought I would be at this point, so the titles are something I can make completely my own and should hopefully counteract the negatives of the film itself, at least in my own mind if nothing else. Below are the stages I went through in order to change the titles so that some of the weak issues could be solved.

1. The first issue I hoped to solve was the font issue. My audience chose a font which was more unique and suitable to the theme of Christmas than the temporary one I chose. Seeing as it is the only audience-driven part of my titles, I thought it would be a good place to start which should hopefully lead me on to some other issues with my titles that I am not happy about. After changing the font of the titles to the chosen ‘St Nicholas’ font, I also changed the size and some of the positioning of my font, so that continuity is maintained. Below is how they looked after these changes were made:

This is the 'Redtree Pictures presents...' card. Admittedly, the 'Presents' is quite difficult to see in this picture, but it is slightly below the central blue line, towards the right.

Once I changed the font of this card, the positioning of the words seemed simply to far away. I centralised the words so that they look better and reflect the cosy, Christmassy feeling of the font.

This is the card I am probably most proud of. After changing the font, I also changed the sioze of the lettering, even on individual lettering such as the 'T' on The, the 'S' on Season and the 'J' on Jolly. I als rearanged the positioning of the words, so that the three most prominent words 'The' 'Season' and 'Jolly' were laregst, yet the title still fits in a regular rectangular shape, making it look more conventional. I also changed the colour of this title, as it is the main title and should therefore stand out more.

It was also brought to my attention that I do not have actor’s credits. I had planned for these to be overlaying the first scene, so that the title sequence would not last too long. However, I figured that there are enough problems with the opening scene of my film, without having distracting tiles at the bottom. I decided that therefore it would be best to incorporate them into the title sequence. They can be found below:

These are my actors titles. Ordering them was a difficult task. Uusally, actors are n=listed in order of appearance, prevalence within the film or their reputation outside the film. However, these are all actors with no widely-known reputation, and all have a relatively equal role within the film. I decided to order them in terms of which would look best aesthetically. Hence, the listing above, where all the names lie ina perfect diaginal line. Furthermore, this is the order that tje girls photos are arranged in in the photo I have selected for my film poster, thus up-keeping continuity.

Next, I wanted to solve the issues of dullness and boredom with my titles. New font and positioning or not, the titles are still relatively dull. On my rough cut titles, I had applied an entrance effect called Short Slow Left’, in which the titles slowly fade in towards the left and eventually bump into one another. I thought that I could apply this to all of my titles to maintain continuity and stave off dullness. Below is how the ‘Redtree Pictures presents’ and the ‘Scott Lampon Production’ cards looks, mid-effect:

'Redtree Pictures' production card, mid-effect

The 'Scott Lampon Productions' card, mid-effect.

However, I still thought that this effect was not enough to stop the title sequence being boring entirely, just as it was not in the rough cut. Although the font sums up the themes of my film quite well, I wanted to make it more obvious to the audience. Below are some of the ideas I considered:

  • Having a clip-art style picture of holly at the corner of each title
  • Having a string of lights at the top of each card, which possibly change colour
  • Change the effect on the titles to something more reflective of the themes.

I eventually decided that I liked the effect I had placed on the titles too much, as it reflected my themes well, to give it up. I therefore decided on an effect to complement the effect. I cam across a snow falling effect, which I thought would look good behind my titles. The effect on my titles very much mimics the effect of falling snow. Below is the clip which advertised this effect

I downloaded this clip and overlaid my titles ion top of it. This gave the impression that the titles were falling in the sky, just like the snow. Furthermore, the balck background of th falling snow efect emphasises the darker themes of my film whilst the snow itself obviously highlights the theme of Christmas.

Sound

This meant that the only remaining aspect of my titles was the sound. I had originally planned for the pieces to sound louder, and for a chorus to be heard during the titles playing, and during the first scene, the music would become quieter and sound as though it was playing on a radio in the background of the cafe. However, once again, the first scene has enough sound issues as it is, without the piece distracting from this. I decided just to play the pieve for as long as the titles lasted.

At this point, the titles with the production card stood at 32 seconds, and without the production card around 20 seconds. I only wanted the piece to play during the actual titles, not eh production card, so I had to choose a twenty second snippet of the piece to include in my production. I decided that the last chorus should be present, as it is the most musically complex, and also has a nice finish which will top off my titles. This would go towards the end of my titles, so I decided to fill up the first half of my titles with however much of the first verse as possible.

Afterwards, I edited the sound clip and laid it over the titles. I blended the two parts of the song together with a cross fade effect.

Finished product

Below is how my titles currently look. I don’t think I will make many changes to them , as I am very happy with them as they are. The only change I would consider making is a change in the length of the titles overall if it should become absolutely necessary. I think these titles dispel a lot of the weaknesses of the old ones, and are generally very successful.

[Video to be inserted]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

