Initial Film Poster Designs

Amongst the fun and games of pre-prodution must not be forgotten the other aspect of this coursework specification, the ancillary tasks. So far, he only work I have done on the first ancillary task (film poster production) is some basic research on posters with similar genres and themes to myown film. I feel that this research has given me enough knowledge and ideas to begin creating my own poster ideas. Obviously these will have to be subsequently put up for audience criticism and changed as such. Below are the initial designs for my posters.

Design One

Design One

 Shot Types and Composition

This design consist of only one main shots, which takes up the entire poster allowing no room for a background. This main shot would consist of the three main characters’ pictures in their own photo frame on a surface like a counter or mantel, surrounded by Cgristmas decorations. The im[pression I am attemtping to give is that this photo has been taken in the house of one of the characters at Christmas, where their photo frames are surrounded by Christmas decorations. What I didn’t present on the poster, mostly because I thought it would dominate the poster and look odd was that this poster would eb mostly dark, and the objects above would be lit by a light from below, giving a laragely shadowy appearance. This should tell the audience everything about the film that they need to know; the film is Christmas-related, heavily focussed upon the main characters and explores some of the darker themes related to Christmas.

Each character’s photo takes up an equal third of the shot, implying equal focus upon all characters, as well as implying that they are all separate characters and people within their own right, who need to be carefully observed by the audience.

Overall Composition

I haven’t attempted anything outrageous as far as overall composition. Whilst I am aware that I have made great focus upon the rule of thirds in my previous film poster analyses, this is simply because I believe it is the most effective tehnique film poster technique and have thus applied to my own. The three thirds of my own poster are actor titles, main shot and title. I’ve split the various types of title across the poster, to draw audience attention across it. The main shot is sandwiched between the various titles meaning the main aspects of the poster should receive acknowledgement.

I have made a slight odd move by merging the billing block and the main title within the same space. This was for two reasons. Firstly, I believed that there simply was not enough room for  the billing block to be placed underneath the titles, without taking away space from other important features such as the main shot. Also, this way, all official information, such as the release date, production company and the billing block itself ae all on in the same eyeline, making the poster more formulaic and structured.

Titles, Font and Colouring

I personally believe the most important aspect of my titles is their colouring. I tried to keep the colouring bright as possible. Firstly, to i-keep with the Christmas theme. Secondly, I thought a completely darkened, shadowy poster would give off the wrong impression in terms of genre and theme. The bright title colouring should counter this imbalance.

The same very much applies to the font. I wanted something which was not outwardly ‘Christmassy’ but enough so to brighten the poster and not distract from the darker themes. The font I have attempted to replicate above can be found below.

The intended main title font

Despite my drawings, I have not yet made an official decision reagrding the font of the actors titles and release date. I had originally planned to make them the same as the main title to in-keep with continuity, however, this font becomes quite unclear at small sizes so I didn’t think it would be effective. Seeing as I have not actually decided upon this as my poster, I don’t think this a pressing issue. However, should I chose this design, I would leave these font choices down to my audience.

Design Two

Design Two

Overall Composition

I believe that composition is the most important feature of this design. It is loosely based on the design for the poster for The Holiday. I hoped to emmulate the sophistication of this poster. As far as composition is concerned, the things I have replicated are the white panels containing information. I use more panels than the original, as I wanted to spread information across all areas of the poster. An element of Design One can be found in this design, in that each character also receives their own block for their picture. Overall, there are eleven blocks or panels for information. This desgn means that the audience has to sopend a longer amount of time looking at the poster to understand it’s message. It’s message would obviously be the same as the first design, namely, Christmas, characters and darker themes. To take myself out of my comfort zone, this design does not particularly conform to the rule of thirds.

Shot Types and Composition

The idea with this design is that the panels would be covering one central image in the background that would sum up the film. The only problem with this is, is that I am struggling to think what this image could be. Should this design be chosen, this would be decided by my audience. This design incorporate three other shots. These would be one each of the characters, which would be placed in the blank blocks in the above picture. The expressions of the characters would eb varied in order to match their characterisation and the themes of the film, otherwise, these do not come through very clear. For example, Louise could look upset whilst Ellen looks concerned.

Titles, Font and Colouring

The titles are another aspect which would be inspired by The Holiday film poster. Thyey would be as similar as possible, as I believe these titles really express the sophisitication I am looking for. These titles can be found below. Serif fonts are a stereotype of Christmas media, as it is reflective of it’s traditional, Victorian roots. Depending on interpretation, these titles also have a quite serious and sombre look to them. ombined with the black lettering, this could emphasise the darker themes within my production.  Black is also the most dominating colour, meaning the human eye will be drawn all across the poster.

The Holiday titles

As with design one, the font of the other titles is undecided, as I am unsure whether to keep up continuity or break it for effect. Once more, should this design be chosen, the font of th other titles would be chsoen byu my audience.

I thought this poster could act as the more sophisticated design as opposed to design one, which is quite young. The sophistication of this poster would come across in the largely dominant white colouring, serif font and the expressions of the characters, which I imagine would be varied.

Next Steps

Although at the back of my mind, the ancillary task is not my primary concern at the moment. Once filming is complete, I will have a short space of time before editing begins to focus briefly on audience opinion of my posters.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

