Audiences

I think my idea is quite established in my own mind, however, I think I’m paying more attention to the finer details, and ignoring the larger details such as location and sound which will be more obvious and impacting upon the audience. Seeing as I’m not entirely sure which decisions would be best regarding these bigger issues, I thought that this could be the focus of my target audience research. Furthermore, I’m not entirely sure who my primary target audience is, let alone my secondary. As I mentioned in my previous post, if I had to say what my primary target audience is, it would be teenage girls, as obviously they would be able to relate to the characters the best. However, I will use the target audience research to confirm if this is indeed my primary target audience, as well as using it to discover who my secondary target audience is.

 

My audience research will establish who my target audience is

 

At only 7 questions long, one of which being conditional, my target audience research questionnaire is brief but I think it suitably covers each of the main areas which are undecided about my production. As mentioned, it is designed to focus on the larger features rather than the finer details. The following is a list of the questions, why I asked them, the results and their impact upon my production.

1. Please complete the following details

Results

 

 

The audience sample

 

 

Reason for question

Obviously the main purpose of this question was to establish who exactly was taking the questionnaire, and whether they fit into my target audience. Also, I needed to analyse the results on an individual level, so that I could establish my secondary audience. As you can see, I mostly asked my target audience, by asking more people than others for females aged between 16 and 25. Judging by the answers I received, I would most definitely say that this is my target audience.

My secondary target audience is a little more difficult. Whilst I tried to ask a broad range of people in the short time given, I still do not think that I am any closer to finding my secondary target audience. This is mostly due to my asking of only one person from each of the other demographics. I have decided that seeing as this is not the only wave of audience research I will conduct, my secondary target audience can always be established at a later date. My next waves of audience research will also be more specific, so should hopefully provide me with more answers. Based on the these rsults though, I shall simply say that my secondary audience is females aged over 25, as it appeared as though these respondents would relate best to my film.

I have now also noticed the slight problem that I failed to question aged over 45. Obviously this problem can be rectified in my second round of audience research.

Impact upon production

Seeing as this question has provided me with little information that I did not already know, I don’t imagine it will have much progressive impact upon my production. However, it has reassured me to definitely tie in as many feminine themes as appropriately possible, as obviously this will appeal to both my primary and secondary audience.

2. How well do you think you would be able to relate to a film featuring only teenage female characters?

Results

 

 

The answers to question 2

 

 

Reason for question

This was intended to be the main question which would help me decide whom my secondary target audience is. Seeing as my film focusses mainly on female characters, sociability, opportunities and struggles, then the extent to which my audience could relate to these issues would be the most important aspect to deciding if I should target them.

Impact upon production

The results to this question were nothing that I was not expecting. As expected, the female who took the questionnaire responded more positively to the question than the males. Unfortunately this was all I was able to gather from my results, and I don’t think that I’ll be able to make any more specific assumptions about my audience until more audience research is conducted. This is why I decided that my secondary target audience would be females between 25 and 45, as they appeared to be able to relate to the characters the best.

3. Which narrative structure would you prefer (with the option of suggesting own)

Results

 

The results of question 3

 

Reason for question

For this question, I gave my respondents four choices for ways in which the narrative could be presented. These were Standard, in which the Christmases would be shown simply in chronological order, Reversed, in which the Christmases would be shown in reverse order for effect. Also, Broken was an option. An example of a broken narrative structure would be perhaps showing the events leading up to the argument are shown first, then the narrative continues as normal, or something similar. I also gave my respondents the option of suggesting their own. The reason for this question is simply because I am unsure which narrative structure my audience would prefer and I thought it best to ask them directly.

Impact upon production

Clearly Broken was the most popular option amongst my respondents. However, as it stands I don’t believe it should make too much difference to the way I film my production. Because it is split into five equal parts, these parts can easily be rearranged, even at the last minute if necessary, to change from Standard to Reversed. Similarly, I don’t think changing either of these to the Broken option, as my audience suggested, will be difficult. To make a final decision, I may ask my audience this question again later down the line, when I have footage to show them and they can make a decision based on that.

4. Which location option would you prefer?

Results

 

The results of question 4

 

Reason for question

Once more, this another decision which I have been unable to make. I originally thought to set all five Christmases in the same location. This way the audience would not be confused and it would act as a consistent anchor throughout the film. However, I then thought that this would become boring after while, so maybe thought about the idea of setting all five Christmases in different location. I wasn’t exactly sure of the practicality or plausibility of this option, but this then opened up the option, of having all five scenes set in just two or three locations, based on their age. For example, 17 year olds are more likely to meet in each other’s houses than 21 year olds, who are more likely to meet at a cafe or a similar setting. I couldn’t decide between these options, so I thought I would open it up to my audience.

Impact upon production 

Obviously this question, and it’s sub-question, are going to have a huge impact on my production, not only in terms of where it’s set but also practicality, script and behaviour of my characters. I think I will comply with my audience’s wishes, and try to incorporate simply two or three locations into my production. This is mostly due to plausibility terms; I may set the first year in a living room and the other years in a cafe, as this seems the most likely to happen in reality. However, this may not be my final decision, and  if I decide  to use only one location due to the effect it will have on my production, then that may be the case. Once more, this decision may have to rest in the wake of a second wave of audience research.

4b. Which location do you think would be most appropriate? (This question was only open to those who thought only one location would be best in the previous question)

Results


The results of question 4b

 

Reason for question

This question was only open to those who chose the ‘one location’ option in question 4. I thought that if a respondent thought only one location was suitable, they would have a good idea of an exact location. Even if I eventually decide to use two or three locations, this chosen location would be used the most.

Impact upon production

Along with question 4, this is probably one of the most impactful questions in my questionnaire. Clearly, the results show that my audience would prefer to see all or the majority of my production take place in a location such as a cafe, pub or restaurant. Obviously this is doable but it will require more research and obviously enquiries into where I can actually film.

5. Please make a suggestion for a third character

Results

 

Only two respondents answered this question. Both were in the demographic of females aged 16-25, and both answered the same:

 

‘Girl focussed on her career?’

‘Someone who is a careerwoman?’

 

Reason for question

Character personalities are something which should really be decided upon me, and changed based on audience opinion, as opposed to the audience having to think of characters themselves. That is why I made this question optional, so as not to put m audience under pressure. I thoguht that even if an audience member could suggest loose ideas, I would be able to make a third character out of them.

Impact upon production

For this question, I gave my audience synopses of the characters I had already thought of, and by a happy coincidence, I had forgot to mention that Louise was a careerwoman, who uses her business as a front to her tragic lovelife. As a result, I reieved thre answers that someone who was focussed on their career would be a good idea. I thought that perhaps I could form a new character out of this. In the film, I could focus less on Louise’s career and instead emphasise the career of the third character. Two women who were focussed on their career would explain why they have remained friends despite their differences; they would have a middle ground. I may have to develop this character more though before it has any impact upon the production.

6. Music may be used in the background of each scene to set the tone. Do you think this would add to the effect of each scene, or would eventually become distracting?

Results

Reason for question

I originally planned to incorporate a lot of music into my film to set the tone of each scene. I thought I could explore Christmas music by unsigned artists, and usemusic with a suitbale tone for each scene. Since asking this question, I have discovered that under this specification, any music to be used can only be made by the candidate – even music by unsigned artists cannot be used. Obviously this has impacted upon how often I might use music, as I am unsure how much quality music I would be able to produce with the software available to me in the time available to me. However, on the off chance that I should be able to make some good music, it is interesting to know my audience’s thoughts.

Impact upon production

Obviously my audience unanimously voted that hould music be used, they thought it would be effective. Given that my audience has suxh a strong opinion on this, I will definitely consider trying to make a t leat one piece of music to incorporate into my film.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

